“Just a thought”


I get a daily summary of science news from Sigma Xi and the end of each newsletter is a quote. The quote for March 7th was

Scientific progress makes moral progress a necessity; for if man’s power is increased, the checks that restrain him from abusing it must be strengthened.” –Anne Louise Germaine de Staël, Swiss author

I wanted to post this because 1) I thought it was interesting and 2) I wanted to put it somewhere where I could find it in the event that I wrote a piece on that idea. And I also wanted to share it with you all. :)

Note added on 30 March 2014 – removed references to scheduled preaching trips.

2 thoughts on ““Just a thought”

  1. Dear Anne Louise – so right. If only it was so!
    Just yesterday at work a friend commented in his broken English how awful that so many scientists continued to invent new ways of mass murder instead of ways to feed and shelter more humans.

Leave a Reply

