Thinking Outside the Box


DrTony:

As one who works in two areas, I always am on the lookout for papers and thoughts that discuss the idea of “Thinking Outside The Box”. While you may not understand some of the terminology that is used in this paper, you should be able to grasp the significance of what Alison is talking about.
It is interesting that I discovered this paper by accident (though serendipity may be a better word) but some of my research would overlap what she is interested in.

Originally posted on a1tg:

I recently had the opportunity to attend a conference that is completely outside of my field of study. I study bioinorganic chemistry and do most of my work on small metalloproteins, so I spend a lot of time thinking about fundamentals like inorganic spectroscopy, biophysics, and biochemistry.  I managed to have some interdisciplinary experiences early on and these likely influenced my choice of a Chemical Biology program over the more traditional programs that I was also admitted to.

This past week I saw some talks at the Goldschmidt, which is one of the largest geochemistry conferences. While there, I spent most of my time at the bio-geochemistry talks, since that’s what’s most interesting to me, and stuff like vulcanism (it’s a thing, I swear) and mantle chemistry is totally out of my reach. I have long had an interest in applying some of my skills to environmental problems and…

View original 489 more words

Leave a Reply

