My Top Posts for 2008


This has been an interesting year in terms of what was posted and what people read.  The one nice thing about shifting to WordPress for my blog is that I have been able to track the number of visits to each of the blogs posted.  And being the statistically minded person that I am, I have been fascinated by the growth in my readership (as the following graph illustrates):

clip_image002

The straight line shows the trend that my readership is increasing and I want to say thank you to everyone who has stopped by and visited for awhile.  I hope that you will continue to do so through 2009 and bring your friends.

The other thing that the statistical section of WordPress does is show me which posts get read the most

The top five posts for the past twelve months are:

  1. The Chemistry of Bowling: A Short History of Bowling Balls, Lanes, Coatings, and Conditioners
  2. The Lost Generation
  3. A Collection of Sayings
  4. Why Do We Celebrate Palm Sunday?
  5. Consider The Lilies of The Field And How They Grow

Now, the interesting thing about this is that the second post on the list (“The Lost Generation”) was actually written in 2007 but it still ranks as the second most visited piece during the past twelve months (it is the #1 piece with the “Chemistry of Bowling” being the #2 piece all- time).  I think that has something to do with students searching the Internet through Google for information about various American authors during the period between the two world wars.  If you take that piece out of the rankings, then the #5 piece was Ban Dihydrogen Monoxide!  The Invisible Killer.

“Consider the Lilies” ranks 7th all time with “Don’t Know Much History” and “Where Were You On April 4, 1968?” ranking 5th and 6th on the all-time list.

My “top” sermon of the year was also one that I original posted in 2007, “The Message Is Clear”; the top sermon given in 2008 was “Just What Is The Right Thing To Do?  Interestingly enough, both were presented at the Dover United Methodist Church where I go ever four weeks or so.

So there is a summary of my posts for the past twelve months. It is an interesting list and it will be interesting to see what transpires over the next twelve months.

2 thoughts on “My Top Posts for 2008

  1. Pingback: It’s all in the name « Thoughts From The Heart On The Left

  2. Pingback: Top Posts of 2011 « Thoughts From The Heart On The Left

Leave a Reply

