A Simple Act of Political Protest


As the title of this piece indicates, I engaged in an act of political protest this morning; I voted. I voted because I have the right to do so and because one year I didn’t vote. That one year was, if nothing else, political purgatory. You may disagree with me but if you vote, and it does not matter whether you voted for the winner or the loser, then you have the right to agree or disagree with what takes place in the coming months. But if you do not vote, and it is your choice to do so or not, then you have, in my humble opinion, forfeited the right to dissent.

This country was founded on the right of each person to vote and express their own opinion. There are many who feel that their vote is wasted but I have come to the thought that it is wasted when you don’t use it.

Right now, this country is in the midst of what might be the greatest revival of politics since the American Revolution. The “Occupy” movement is an expression of the thoughts of the people and in great contrast to the “Tea Party” movement that we saw last year. It will be interesting to see how things go in the next twelve months as we know begin in earnest the Presidential campaign of 2012.

I am thinking of posting some thoughts on the issues and not the candidates. Right now, there aren’t too many candidates out there that I will support. My votes today were predicated on contact with the candidates early on.

We are going to get tons of these political robot calls in the next twelve months. Let me put it on the record. If you are a candidate running for an office in this area of the country and you are expecting my vote, then I expect you to knock on my door and introduce yourself. Don’t expect me to contribute to your campaign unless you have serious (and I mean serious) plans for getting this country back to work. Since my unemployment is now past four years, I am not making many political contributions.

I have already told the Obama campaign to quit calling my house and asking for my support. I did so because 1) I really think that they blew it three years ago and 2) the calls are coming as unknown numbers that cannot be identified. Practically every political call that we have received in the past months has come from an unidentified 800 number. I have already pointed out that my Representative in Congress, Nan Hayworth, uses a similar system to let people know of her town hall meetings. But we don’t answer unknown caller phone calls so we don’t participate in Hayworth’s town hall meetings.

I was able to trace a call from my local state senator back to the National Republican Committee phone bank and I let him know that I thought that was really low. I also let the Obama know in no uncertain terms that I thought that using an unidentified number was not the way to go; are you so afraid of the electorate that you won’t put a legitimate name on the caller id?

And you can expect to lose my vote if I get an unidentified political robot call from you or your representatives. I will vote in next year’s election; I will vote for the candidates whose views look to the future of this country and to the future for all the people. I will not vote for any candidate whose views involve turning the calendar back and who believe that some of the people living in this country are more important than others. I will not vote for any candidate who expresses the thought that God told them to run for office or who suggest that their version of religion is somehow better than mine. I am not saying that being a Methodist is the best route but it works for me. And I have said it before that I don’t like it when my decisions about God and faith are questioned. That’s my choice and not yours.

Politics is about the people and the people should have the ultimate say. That’s why I voted today; it is, was, and will always be a simple act of political protest.

One thought on “A Simple Act of Political Protest

  1. Pingback: “What Is A Vote Worth?” « Thoughts From The Heart On The Left

Leave a Reply

