Thanks a lot, Henry!


Many years ago, while I was a graduate student at the University of Iowa, I wrote a letter to the Editor of Science in response to a letter about reformation of science education. I drafted a response and showed it to my graduate school colleagues and some of the faculty, including my advisor, Robert Yager. Everyone agreed that it was a well-reasoned and thoughtful response to this particular gentleman’s plan for reforming science education in the 1990s.

Then the fun began. Letters to the Editor of Science undergo peer review and I wasn’t able to get my thoughts published. It apparently didn’t help that 1) I was a graduate student and the individual who wrote the original letter was a distinguished professor or 2) that he was a biologist (i.e., a real scientist) and I was in education (where we really don’t do real science). So in the end, my response was never printed.

A couple of years later, I was able to post a response to an individual’s thoughts on the reformation of chemical education in Chemical & Engineering News – see “The Crisis in Science and Mathematics (1990)”.

Over the past few years, I have written about the crisis in science and mathematics and the declining ability of individuals to think critically and analytically, prompted in part by my wife’s thoughts and words. And it is just not in science and mathematics but in our understanding of the Bible as well (let’s not go into how well the average American knows the Bible at this time).

Of course, I am just a lowly blogger so my thoughts on problems with the American educational system don’t matter. This is all prompted by a piece by the noted educational theorist and writer, Henry Giroux, “Beyond the Politics of the Big Lie: The Education Deficit and the New Authoritarianism”. Henry’s thoughts will get all the attention but there are those of us who have been trying to do something about the problem for some time.

So, thanks Henry. Of course, you are a few years late but maybe this time people will pay attention.

Leave a Reply

