How to Treat (or not) Treat Visitors


DrTony:

I wanted to “reblog” this because it echoes some of the thoughts I have expressed on a couple of occasions in the past.
I have visited a number of churches over the years and very seldom have I been greeted. Now, I came for a specific reason so greeting was not high on my list (except the one time when the pastor wanted me to come and wanted to know what happened).
I agree with the notes about the web site. I know where most of the churches in this area are and their starting times but I know that many newcomers to the area are going to check the website. If if is out of date or incorrect, they probably aren’t got to go there. The “find-a-church” function on the umc.org page is a great help but I think that many churches don’t even know it exists or what information about the church is given. Same thing about Facebook – Facebook is great if one can get to but is it set up for visitors?
I think that the bulletin is the most crucial piece of written information that any church has; it is the one thing that is likely to go home with the visitor and provide them with the resources to follow up on any questions they might have.
Coffee hour – I have actually been told that people should be grateful that they are getting a cup of coffee after church and that other “goodies” shouldn’t be served. If we see the coffee hour as part of the Sunday morning ministry, that is not a good thought to have.
I hope others will look at this post and consider what visitors will see when they walk into their church.

Originally posted on Tuesdays with Morris:

Today, I found myself thinking about some of the reasons I would not visit or return to any given church. So, I thought I’d share some of those and invite any of my readers to share their reasons too!

1. Horrible Website

  • I’m not really talking about design here…instead I’m talking about content.
  • In the world of church websites, I really think simple/user friendly websites are best.
  • However, some churches have incredible websites that make my jaw drop. I immediately want to visit some churches simply by visiting their homepage. But, this is not the norm, nor the expectation.
  • The expectation is that you will have up-to-date, accurate information. Seriously, if you aren’t going to update your website, you have two options: 1) Put very basic information that will not change often (worship times, location, phone number, etc.) 2) Shut it down.
  • For example, today I visited a website that…

View original 1,001 more words

One thought on “How to Treat (or not) Treat Visitors

  1. Pingback: “Problem Solving 101″ « Thoughts From The Heart On The Left

Leave a Reply

