Robert Boyle


If you have followed this blog, you know that I am interested in Robert Boyle, the English scientist some consider the father of modern chemistry. My interest, in part, of course, comes from the fact that I am a chemist by vocation. But in preparing a piece on Isaac Newton (“A Dialogue of Science and Faith”) I found that there was more to Boyle’s life than just science, be it chemistry, physics, philosophy, or alchemy.

In fact, Boyle was as active in religious activities as he was in science activities. As I noted in my own piece, Boyle’s work in the sciences (including alchemy) was designed to show what God had done in this world. His belief in God and his Christian faith would lead him in ways that we probably would not imagine today but I think that is because we apply the standards and knowledge of today to times and cultures not our own.

So my plan was to write about this individual a little more in depth but then I discovered the following series on Robert Boyle written by Ted Davis and posted on the BioLogos web site. The following pieces can be reached through the following link: The Faith of a Great Scientist: Robert Boyle’s Religious Life, Attitudes, and Vocation.

  • The Faith of a Great Scientist: Robert Boyle’s Religious Life, Attitudes, and Vocation, Part 1
  • Faith and Doubt: Two Sides of the Same Coin
  • The Heart of a Great Scientist
  • With Charity to All
  • A Celibate Life in a Libertine Age
  • Science as Christian Vocation
  • Nature Abhors a Vacuum — and Boyle Abhors “Nature”

I hope you find this as interesting as I did.

One thought on “Robert Boyle

  1. Pingback: “Some Contrarian Christian Ideas On Science” | Thoughts From The Heart On The Left

Leave a Reply

