Phone Calls


I just posted this on my Facebook page.

Something I just read prompted me to post the following:

If you have not registered your phones with the “Do Not Call” list, do so. It will save you a lot of grief.

Even you are on the “Do Not Call” list, you are still susceptible to calls from political groups and charities (even if the charity is questionable).

If you are on the “Do Not Call” list and you are getting calls about lowering your interest rates, that is not a violation. There is a loop hole in the “Do Not Call” regulations that allows such phone calls if you had a credit card at one time.

My solution is to utilize a version of something we did with the phone in the old Bartlett High School Band Room (’66 – ’68), “East Side Mortuary. Is this a pickup or delivery?”

I don’t know how the people how the people who call because they have discovered there is a virus in my operating system get my number (blocking the number doesn’t help because they are spoofing the number that shows on the Caller ID) so I offer the suggest that I don’t have any windows in my office but I do sit by the door.

I know that this isn’t going to stop the phone calls but at least I have a little fun.

3 thoughts on “Phone Calls

  1. Yes, and the sun came up in the west this morning.

    What they don’t tell you is that the FCC is required to maintain a “do not call” list. Telemarketers are encouraged but NOT required to contact that list at least quarterly to delete numbers from their calling lists that are on the Do Not Call list. But telemarketers have discovered that since the list is not enforced, there is no reason for them to try to eliminate numbers that they will call—unless you yell and scream at their representatives saying you are on the “Do Not Call” list.

    This was one of those Congressional acts which was voted in to make the pubic think the lawmakers were watching out for the public, when in actuality, they were protecting the sources of income for their political parties and the companies that provide campaign contributions.

    • Tom, thanks for the comment! As I believe my favorite political writer Molly Ivins once wrote (or at least quoted herself), “No one’s life or liberty is safe when the legislature is in session.”

      What has become more and more apparent over the years is that we, the people, must maintain due vigilance and push our Representatives and Senators to do what is right for each one of us and not just those who support their campaigns.

Leave a Reply

