“No Reservations Required”


A couple of thoughts related to the title of this post:

I was visiting at another church a couple of Sundays ago and it happened to be communion Sunday. Now, while I was a visitor to the church, several of the people there know me from my work in the district. So, as it was, the usher called me by my name when it was time to come up for communion.

Now, it occurred to me that we are called by Christ by name, so it is only natural that we, as His servants, should call others by their names on occasions such as communion. To do this without using name tags requires a little bit of extra effort and not everyone would want to do that. But isn’t that part of the communion we are establishing?

Along those lines, I will be at the at the Sloatsburg United Methodist Church in Sloatsburg, New York this Sunday. Services start at 10:30 and reservations are not needed. The title of the message is tentatively titled “The Other Side Of The Universe” and the Scriptures for the 2nd Sunday of Easter are Acts 2: 14, 22 – 32; 1 Peter 1: 3 – 9; and John 20: 19 – 31.

Leave a Reply

