What I Believe


First, I believe that there is a God and that He created the universe and all that is in it. I believe that we have been created in His image and given the ability to think and create as a result.

Granted, the way we think at times can be questioned and what we have created has sometimes done more harm than good. But even in times when our thoughts and creative acts have been directed towards evil and destruction, we still retain the ability to do good and create rather than destroy.

The history of society’s development, I think, can be traced to its ability to think and create, to ask questions and seek answers, to go beyond the horizon into unknown territories. While some may fear the unknown and not wish to see what is beyond the next corner, we understand that we cannot grow as people and a society if we do not venture to that new place.

Second, I believe that Jesus Christ is my Lord and Savior and that He was the Son of God and that He came to this world to save me from my sins.

I also believe that each person has their own understanding of who God is and may express that belief in a different way.

I do not believe that I have the right to tell you what to believe or how to believe. Rather, it is through my words, deeds, and actions that I can offer others a new way, a new life and a way to peace.

In accepting Jesus Christ as my Lord and Savior, I have also accepted the task of showing the world who He is. This requires that I use the ability that I was given when I was formed in the image of God to think and create.

In thinking, I ask questions, sometimes about my faith, sometimes about the world around me. The answers that I get may cause me to question my faith; they may also cause me to question the way the world around me works. But in answering my questions, my faith will grow and I will work to improve the world around me.

One thought on “What I Believe

  1. Pingback: “What I Believe” | Thoughts From The Heart On The Left

Leave a Reply

