What Can We Do?


When we opposed the Viet Nam war and marched for Civil Rights, we were often told “my country, right or wrong”, often followed by “love it or leave it.” But the quote that so many people used was always incomplete. To paraphrase the complete quote, “I will support my country when it is right and I will work to make it right when it is wrong.”
 
And I remember that night in 1969 when I stood with my friends in Baldwin Hall protesting the inequity of housing in Kirksville, Missouri (much to the dismay of my parents and grandmother), staring out the door at those who would just as soon bash my head in as agree that there were inequities in life.
 
I made a decision a long time ago to follow Christ, not the Christ that promises wealth and prosperity to a select and limited few, but the CHRIST whose sacrifice gave freedom to all who seek Him. I knew it then and I know it now that the struggle isn’t over and that struggle must continue and I will continue to fight for what is right and just.
 
POWER TO THE PEOPLE!
Leave a Reply

